Your No1 News channel


Search This Blog


Monday, 24 September 2018

Best FIFA Awards 2018 LIVE: Luka Modric wins FIFA Best player as Mohamed Salah DOESN'T even make the FIFPRO World XI

Luka Modric won the FIFA Best player of 2018, pipping Mohamed Salah and Crisitano Ronaldo to the gong at the awards in London.
The Croatian skipper has enjoyed a stellar year, leading his team to the World Cup semi-finals, but many believed the award was heading to Salah.

The Egyptian forward was not only snubbed for the award, but also missed out on the FIFPRO team of the year.
Ronaldo can feel slightly more hard done by, as his wonder overhead kick against Juventus was beaten in the Puskas Award.

But it wasn't by Gareth Bale - but for Salah's effort against Everton in the Premier League

Other notable FIFA Awards are below 
1 πŸ‘‰ Mo Salah wins the FIFA Puskas Award⚽ for his strike against Everton

2 πŸ‘‰ French coach Didier Deschamps wins the FIFA The Best Men's CoachπŸ‘” of the Year for leading France to the World title. Arsene Wenger presents Deschamps with the trophy.

In a World Cup year, it was always going to be the coach of the winning team who would land the trophy, more often than not. No surprises.

3 πŸ‘‰ ‬Thibaut Courtois wins the FIFA Best Goalkeeper awardπŸ™Œ for his heroics for Belgium in the World Cup. He won the Golden Glove too during the World Cup.

4 πŸ‘‰  Peru fans win the FIFA The Best Fans award. Many of them made arduous journeys to Russia to witness their team play the World Cup for the first time since 1982, leaving their jobs and borrowing money.

5 πŸ‘‰ VVV Venlo striker Lennart Thy wins the FIFA Fairplay Award. The German striker declared himself unavailable against his side's match against PSV to donate blood for a person suffering with Leukemia. He was named Man of the Match for that game despite not setting foot on the table.

6 πŸ‘‰  Marta wins the FIFA Best Women's Player of the Year. The legendary Brazilian striker has dominated women's football for so long and adds another feather to her cap after leading Brazil to Copa America glory.

That leaves the BIG award now.

8 πŸ‘‰ Luka Modric wins the FIFA Best Men's Player of the Year, beating the likes of Mo Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Woah, what a year Modric has hadπŸ’₯. From winning the Champions League to reaching the final of the World Cup (and winning the Golden Ball) to this!

He's broken the CR7-Messi hegemony in FIFA The Best & Ballon d'Or awards finally.

Well, that's that! We've come to the end of the FIFA Best awards ceremony.

Quite interesting to see Dani Alves' name popping up in the FIFPro World XI despite him missing the World Cup and PSG getting knocked out in the Round of 16 of the Champions League.

However, the biggest talking point will be Luka Modric finally ending the stranglehold Messi & CR7 had on individual awards in football. Deserved or not?

No comments:

Post a Comment